I think Kara had a big growth spurt this month, in addition to cutting 4 new teeth with a few more still on the way. Needless to say there have been a few middle-of-the-night wake up calls and lots of rocking in the glider. 😴

At 16 months, Kara Grace…
…gained about a pound in 1 month. We’ve reached the 20 lb. mark!
…has a few more new teeth than last month…I think we’re at 14 but she doesn’t let me see them easily.
…says tons of new words. I definitely can’t list them all. She’s trying out words for everything right now so it’s hard to understand her sometimes. A few that I really love and understand are church (she gets really excited when we tell her it’s time for church), peaches, please is more clear, especially when she wants you to read her a book, book, doctor, kitchen, medicine (I think anything she knows she shouldn’t touch is called medicine), Bradley, outside, splash, and pool.
…really seems to understand what I say to her, like “get your shoes,” or “let’s go outside.” She will (usually) do what I tell her to, or nod if it’s a yes or no question. The nodding is adorable. She will run to the back door when it’s time to play outside or the front door when it’s time to get in the car. If you say we’re going to Grandmama/Granddaddy’s house or Nina/Poppa’s house, she will say their names over and over and over until we get in the car.
…loves to wear her shoes, but not while in the car.
…eats a much bigger variety, but her likes differ from day to day. It makes feeding her a little difficult, but I can usually figure out something she likes that day. She ate a whole hot dog recently after refusing meat for a long time. 😂
…(about to get sappy and personal, so skip ahead if you’re not into that!) Kara is 100% weaned. 😭 I’ve been an emotional mess because of it. It was a mutual agreement I think. She wasn’t really interested anymore and I wanted a little break before Christa Belle gets here. Kara and I made it 15 months and 3 weeks, the day I was 6 months pregnant with Christa. I wouldn’t trade that time for anything! It’s hard to explain the nursing relationship adequately, especially to people who think I did it too long, but it created such a special bond that I will always have with my baby girl.
…asks you to read her books and climbs in your lap. Then she will go and pick out a new book and so on and so forth. 😉
…feeds herself with a spoon, albeit in a very messy way.
image

…loves sitting in her high chair and says sit so I’ll put her in it.
…loves having friends over. She will play non-stop and forget she’s tired.
…has discovered the full length mirror. She loves to talk to the baby in the mirror and she will make faces and noises, say dance and do her little quick step dance. She gives the mirror baby kisses and plays peekaboo. I wonder what will happen when she realizes it’s her reflection.
…loves pictures of all babies and says baby every time she sees one.
…recognizes all of our family members and usually says their names.
…only wants to play outside. We’ve spent a lot of time in her little pool and the water table this summer.
image

…gives the best kisses. 😘
…is very curious and “asks” a lot of questions.
…is just the sweetest thing. 💞